Skip to main content

The Dell Precision 7920 and the HP Z8 G4 are the flagship dual-socket towers of their respective ranges, from the same era, aimed at the same buyer. On the specifications that decide most purchases they are remarkably close — which means the decision usually turns on the details below rather than on a headline number.

Specification comparison

  Dell Precision 7920 HP Z8 G4
Form factor Tower; an optional 19-inch rackmount rail kit is listed Tower
Processor sockets One or two One or two
Processor support Intel Xeon Scalable, 1st or 2nd generation, up to 28 cores each Intel Xeon Scalable
Memory technology Six-channel DDR4 ECC at 2666 MHz DDR4, six DIMMs per channel
DIMM slots, one processor 12 12
DIMM slots, two processors 24 24
Maximum memory Up to 1.5TB with dual processors; up to 3TB with select processor SKUs Not stated in the source used here
Graphics slots Up to four PCIe x16 Gen 3 4
Total graphics power Up to 900W Not stated in the source used here
PCIe slot positions 7 7
Internal storage Up to ten 3.5" or 2.5" drives with the MegaRAID 9460-16i controller; up to eight M.2 NVMe on expansion cards 4
Power supply 1400W, 80 PLUS Gold 1125W or 1450W
Chassis 17.05" H x 8.58" W x 22.29" D Tower

Where they genuinely differ

Internal storage is the clearest gap

The Precision 7920 supports up to ten internal 3.5" or 2.5" drives, though that configuration depends on the MegaRAID 9460-16i controller rather than the chassis alone. The Z8 G4 lists four. For work that keeps large datasets on local disk — video, point clouds, simulation output — that is a real difference, and the 7920's eight M.2 NVMe positions on expansion cards widen it further.

Power supply options differ in shape

The 7920 ships a single 1400W supply. The Z8 G4 offers 1125W or 1450W. If a build is planned around four large accelerators, the Z8's higher option gives slightly more headroom; if it is not, the 1125W option makes for a quieter and cheaper machine than the 7920's fixed 1400W.

Rack conversion

Dell lists an optional 19-inch rackmount rail kit for the 7920. If these machines are destined for a rack rather than a desk, that is worth knowing at purchase time.

Where they are effectively equivalent

Sockets, DIMM slots at both one and two processors, DIMMs per channel, graphics slots and PCIe slot positions all match. Neither platform has a structural advantage in memory capacity or expansion. On those axes, specification is not the differentiator — condition, configuration and price are.

The rule that applies to both

The 24-DIMM figure assumes two processors on both platforms. A single-processor unit of either has twelve slots. On the used market this is the single most common source of disappointment, because listings routinely quote the platform maximum rather than the configuration in the box.

How to decide

  • Local storage matters — the Precision 7920, on internal drive count and NVMe positions.
  • Rack destination — the Precision 7920, for the listed rail kit.
  • Quieter or lighter GPU build — the Z8 G4, whose 1125W option suits configurations the 7920's fixed 1400W oversizes.
  • Existing fleet standardisation — whichever brand your imaging, docking and support processes already assume. On these specifications that is a better tie-breaker than the numbers.

What these figures describe

Each column is drawn from the specifications published for that platform, and the sources differ in what they state. Where a figure is not established for one platform it is marked as such rather than estimated or matched to the other. None of it describes a particular refurbished unit.

Where to go next

Hardware bought from TekBoost carries our standard 3-year warranty with Next Business Day part replacement, subject to the terms, exclusions and conditions on that page. If you would rather describe the workload than pick a model, request a quote.